Voyager à la Barbade ? : Consultez les dernières mises à jour ici
Réservez un test COVID mobile aux États-Unis et au Canada ici
https://www.visitbarbados.org/sysimages/ambassador/resized/joshburke1_rsz_06052021004246304.jpg

Leading Caribbean Male Surfer

At just three years old, Barbadian surfer, Josh Burke, was drawn by the allure of riding towering waves and surfing the island’s seas. Born into a family of champion surfers, it seemed only natural that he continue the legacy which was established by family members years before. His father, Alan Burke, is a former champion surfer at both national and international levels. Since 1993, he has been successfully operating Burkie’s Surf School where he and his team are committed to sharing their passion for the waves with a new generation.   

Alan has played a key role in developing Josh’s skill and preparing him to compete all across the world. Known for his daring aerial stunts, Josh’s phenomenal talent has seen him raising the colours of Barbados in several countries including Japan, Panama, Australia and France. 

Big brands such as Reef and Billabong have recognised Josh’s work on the waves and saw him to be an ideal global ambassador. Through his partnership with Billabong, in 2014 Josh had the opportunity to travel to Tahiti where he trained at Teahupo’o, known to be the most dangerous wave in the world. 

À la maison dans les vagues de la Barbade

" L'océan pour certains n'est que de l'eau, pour moi c'est là que je maintiens ma paix", a déclaré Josh. Ce serait un euphémisme de dire que Josh se sent à l'aise parmi les vagues et les marées des mers de la Barbade. Il adore s'entraîner et entraîner d'autres personnes à plusieurs endroits de l'île, mais les vagues difficiles de Bathsheba sur la côte Est sont sans aucun doute son préféré. «Soup Bowl est l'une des meilleures vagues du monde», a déclaré Josh à propos du site de surf de classe mondiale.

Le Soup Bowl est apprécié des surfeurs en raison de ses hautes vagues et de ses barils tout au long de la majeure partie de l'année. Le surfeur vétéran, Kelly Slater, a même déclaré que le Soup Bowl se classe parmi ses trois vagues préférées, dans le monde entier.

Succès de Josh

En 2011, alors qu'il n'avait que 14 ans à l'époque, Josh a été sélectionné pour représenter la Barbade à la série de surf américaine Quiksilver King Of The Grom. Au cours de sa préparation, l'adolescent a déclaré aux médias: «Je ferai de mon mieux et je porterai mon drapeau de la Barbade.» Ce sentiment est toujours vrai pour le champion de surf car il continue de représenter fièrement l'île.

En témoignage de ses compétences, en 2013, Josh a reçu à juste titre l'immense honneur d'avoir été sélectionné pour représenter la Barbade, l'ensemble des Caraïbes, l'Amérique centrale et du Sud au Quiksilver King of the Groms en France. Ici, parmi les meilleurs au monde, Josh s'empare fièrement de la huitième position.

Après plusieurs années de développement de ses compétences et de spectacles internationaux, Josh a terminé 5e à l'événement WSL WRV Qualifying Series 1000 à Outer Banks (OBX) en Caroline du Nord en septembre 2018. Cette expérience a renforcé la carrière de surf dynamique de Burke en tant que 21 ans -old maintenant classé 3ème au classement nord-américain du WSL. S'exprimant sur ce succès, Josh a réfléchi aux défis de la préparation d'un événement de cette ampleur. «Je suis entré dans l'épreuve OBX avec un bon résultat, quelque chose de plus haut qu'un 9e pour augmenter mes points. J'ai mis un peu de pression sur moi-même et ça a semblé marcher même si évidemment, je voulais gagner, mais une 5e dans ces épreuves, je suis content. "

Blessures et récupérations de Josh

Josh a continué à faire des vagues en devenant le premier Barbadien à se qualifier pour l'événement le plus attendu de la tournée des séries de qualification masculines (QS) de la World Surf League (WSL) sur le Volcom Pipe Pro 3000 à Oahu, Hawaii. Peu de temps avant cet événement 2019, le jeune surfeur a subi une grave blessure, ce qui a grandement impacté sa performance. Les spectateurs ont même décrit son émission comme « le plus grand et le plus effrayant effacement de l'histoire de Volcom». Bien que terrifiant, Josh s'est rétabli et les enregistrements de cette performance sont rapidement devenus viraux sur de nombreuses plateformes de médias sociaux. Les souhaits et le soutien du monde entier ont rapidement afflué, motivant Josh à revenir encore plus fort.

Inspirer une nouvelle génération de surfeurs

En 2017, la communauté du surf à la Barbade a transformé le calendrier du surf local en organisant le premier Barbados Surf Pro. Comme prévu, Josh était ravi que son île fasse des progrès aussi importants. Il a noté: «Avoir un QS3000 à la Barbade est une énorme affaire car cela attirera 100 surfeurs du monde entier. Nous avons un talent incroyable ici à la Barbade et généralement nous devons tous voyager à l'étranger pour participer aux événements officiels de la WSL. Josh a vu cela comme une excellente occasion pour son pays d'origine d'accueillir de nouveaux talents et d'exposer encore plus de surfeurs aux merveilles des vagues de la Barbade. «Nous avons la meilleure configuration ici à la Barbade avec des vagues dans toutes les catégories et c'est formidable que maintenant d'autres surfeurs puissent être initiés aux superbes plages et à la configuration de vagues que nous avons ici.»

L'événement a eu un impact énorme et a vu plus de 150 surfeurs professionnels atterrir à la Barbade pour faire partie de l'action de surf. Sans aucun doute, Josh a bien représenté son pays, gérant avec confiance les vagues de Drill Hall Beach et impressionnant les plus de 80 000 téléspectateurs internationaux qui ont diffusé les événements en ligne. Parlant fièrement de l'importance d'événements similaires organisés localement, Josh a déclaré: «Cela aide tellement la Barbade et les Caraïbes d'organiser ces événements, c'est un must», a déclaré Burke. «Non seulement cela réduit les coûts pour les surfeurs caribéens sous-estimés, mais cela leur donne l'occasion de regarder certains des meilleurs au monde. » Josh estime qu'il est important de motiver la prochaine génération de surfeurs à la Barbade en leur montrant la puissance et la renommée des eaux de l'île. «C'est aussi inspirant pour tous les enfants locaux de regarder les surfeurs du QS Tour du monde entier surfer leur séjour à la maison, en leur apprenant beaucoup tout en leur faisant regarder la vague différemment. Ils voient ce qui peut être fait sur la vague. »

La montée d'adrénaline de commander certaines des vagues les plus robustes du monde et la joie d'inscrire à plusieurs reprises le nom de son pays dans les livres d'histoire contribuent à alimenter la passion de Josh Burke pour le sport qu'il aime. Bien que cela puisse sembler risqué pour certains, Josh est à l'aise dans l'eau car il a été habilement guidé à travers les marées depuis son plus jeune âge par le meilleur de la Barbade - son père. Avec son talent indéniable, son charme, son charisme et son amour pour son pays, nous sommes sûrs de voir Josh battre des records et monter haut.

Faits saillants de la carrière

2018- Premier Barbadien à recevoir le wild card 10000 QS de la World Surf League lors de l'événement Ballito Durban en Afrique du Sud

2019 Août: 37e place - Premier surfeur barbadien à se qualifier au tour principal masculin à la WSL US OPEN of SURFING 10000, Huntington Beach en Californie.

2019 Septembre: 13e WSL WRV 1000 Caroline du Nord, premier surfeur barbadien à marquer un 10 parfait dans un événement de surf.

2020 Février:

WSL Volcom Pipe Pro 3000 Premier et seul Barbadien à se qualifier sur ce site, Pipeline Hawaii, la vague la plus célèbre et la plus dangereuse au monde.

Faits amusants

  1. Burke's Beach à St. Michael porte le nom de la famille de Josh et est sa plage préférée à la Barbade.
  2. Le spot de surf préféré de Josh est le Soup Bowl.
  3. Dans ses temps libres, Josh s'occupe de son potager où il cultive des légumes frais locaux.
  4. Quand il ne surfe pas, Josh aime jouer au badminton avec son frère Jacob.
  5. L'un des lieux de rencontre préférés de Josh est Stoutee's in Chancery Lane, une petite cantine qui sert de savoureuses spécialités locales telles que des croquettes de poisson, des rotis et, bien sûr, des bières glacées.

https://www.visitbarbados.org/sysimages/ambassador/resized/joshburke1_rsz_06052021004246304.jpg

Leading Caribbean Male Surfer

At just three years old, Barbadian surfer, Josh Burke, was drawn by the allure of riding towering waves and surfing the island’s seas. Born into a family of champion surfers, it seemed only natural that he continue the legacy which was established by family members years before. His father, Alan Burke, is a former champion surfer at both national and international levels. Since 1993, he has been successfully operating Burkie’s Surf School where he and his team are committed to sharing their passion for the waves with a new generation.   

Alan has played a key role in developing Josh’s skill and preparing him to compete all across the world. Known for his daring aerial stunts, Josh’s phenomenal talent has seen him raising the colours of Barbados in several countries including Japan, Panama, Australia and France. 

Big brands such as Reef and Billabong have recognised Josh’s work on the waves and saw him to be an ideal global ambassador. Through his partnership with Billabong, in 2014 Josh had the opportunity to travel to Tahiti where he trained at Teahupo’o, known to be the most dangerous wave in the world. 

At Home in Barbadian Waves

The ocean to some is just water, to me it’s where I maintain my peace,” Josh once stated. It would be an understatement to say that Josh feels comfortable amongst the waves and tides of the Barbadian seas. He loves to practise and train others at several locations across the island but the challenging waves of Bathsheba in the East Coast are undoubtedly his favourite. “Soup Bowl is one of the best waves in the world,” Josh said of the world-class surfing site. 

The Soup Bowl is beloved by surfers due to its signature high waves and barrels throughout most of the year. Veteran surfer, Kelly Slater, has even said that the Soup Bowl ranks in his top three favourite waves, worldwide.

Josh’s Successes

In 2011, though just 14 years old at that time, Josh was selected to represent Barbados at the Quiksilver King Of The Grom US surf series.  During his preparation, the teen told the media,  “I will try my very best and will be flying my Barbados flag.” This sentiment still holds true for the champion surfer as he continues to proudly represent the island. 

As testament to his skill, in 2013, Josh rightfully received the immense honour of being selected to represent Barbados, the entire Caribbean, Central and South America at Quiksilver King of the Groms in France. Here, amongst the best in the world, Josh proudly captured the eighth position.

After more years of developing his skills and international showings, Josh went on to place 5th at the WSL WRV Qualifying Series 1000 event in Outer Banks (OBX) North Carolina in September 2018. This experience further bolstered Burke’s dynamic surfing career as the 21-year-old now ranked 3rd in WSL North American Rankings. Speaking on this success, Josh reflected on the challenges of preparing for an event of this magnitude. “I went into the OBX event needing a good result, something higher than a 9th in order to increase my points. It was a bit of pressure I put on myself and it seemed to work although obviously, I wanted to win, but a 5th in these events I am happy with."

Josh’s Injuries & Recoveries

Josh continued to make waves as he became the first Barbadian to qualify for the most anticipated event on the World Surf League (WSL) Men's Qualifying Series (QS) tour the Volcom Pipe Pro 3000 in Oahu, Hawaii. Shortly before this 2019 event, the young surfer sustained a serious injury, which greatly impacted his performance. Onlookers even described his showing as “the biggest and scariest wipeout in Volcom history.” Though terrifying, Josh recovered and recordings of this performance quickly went viral across many social media platforms. Well wishes and support from across the world quickly poured in, motivating Josh to come back even stronger. 

Inspiring a New Generation of Surfers

In 2017, the surfing community in Barbados transformed the local surf calendar by staging the inaugural Barbados Surf Pro. As expected, Josh was elated that his island was making such massive strides.  He noted, “Having a QS3000 in Barbados is a huge deal as it will bring 100 surfers from around the world. We have amazing talent here in Barbados and usually we all have to travel overseas in order to compete in official WSL events.” Josh saw this as a great opportunity for his home country to welcome new talent and further expose even more surfers to the wonders of Barbadian waves. “We have the best set up here in Barbados with waves in every category and it is great that now other surfers can be introduced to the great beaches and wave set up we have here.” 

The event had a huge impact and saw over 150 pro surfers landing in Barbados to be part of the surfing action. Without a doubt, Josh represented his country well, confidently handling the waves of Drill Hall Beach and impressing the more than 80,000 international viewers who streamed the events online. Speaking proudly about the importance of similar locally hosted events, Josh noted, “It helps Barbados and the Caribbean so much to have these events, it's a must," Burke said. "Not only does it cut costs for the underrated Caribbean surfers, but it gives them the opportunity to watch some of the world's best.” Josh believes that it is important to motivate the upcoming generation of surfers in Barbados by showing them the power and fame of the island’s waters. “It's also inspiring for all the local kids to watch the QS tour surfers from around the world surf their home break, teaching them lots while making them look at the wave differently. They see what can possibly be done on the wave.”

The adrenaline rush of commanding some of the world’s most robust waves and the joy of repeatedly stamping his country’s name in history books help to drive Josh Burke’s passion for the sport he loves. Though it may seem risky to some, Josh is comfortable in the water as he has been ably guided through the tides from his toddler years by the best in Barbados- his dad. With his undeniable talent, charming, charisma and love for his country, we are sure to see Josh breaking records and riding high. 

Career Highlights

2018- First Barbadian to be awarded the World Surf League 10,000 QS wild card into the Ballito Durban South Africa Event 

2019 August: 37th place -First Barbadian Surfer to Qualify in the Men’s main round at the WSL US OPEN of SURFING 10000, Huntington Beach California.

2019 September: 13th-WSL WRV 1000 North Carolina, First Barbadian surfer to ever score a perfect 10 in a surfing event.

2020 February:

WSL Volcom Pipe Pro 3000 First and only Barbadian to ever qualify at this venue, Pipeline Hawaii, the most famous and dangerous wave in the World.

 Fun Facts

  1. Burke’s Beach in St. Michael is named after Josh’s family and is his favourite beach in Barbados. 
  2. Josh’s favourite surf spot is the Soup Bowl. 
  3. In his spare time, Josh tends to his kitchen garden where he grows fresh local veggies.
  4. When he’s not surfing, Josh enjoys a game of badminton with his brother, Jacob. 
  5. One of Josh’s favourite hang out spots is Stoutee’s in Chancery Lane,  a small canteen that serves up tasty local delicacies such as fishcakes, rotis and of course, ice-cold beers.