Reisen Sie nach Barbados?: Sehen Sie sich hier die neuesten Updates an
Buchen Sie ein Mobil COVID Test innerhalb der USA und Kanada hier
https://www.visitbarbados.org/sysimages/ambassador/resized/joshburke1_rsz_06052021004246304.jpg

Leading Caribbean Male Surfer

At just three years old, Barbadian surfer, Josh Burke, was drawn by the allure of riding towering waves and surfing the island’s seas. Born into a family of champion surfers, it seemed only natural that he continue the legacy which was established by family members years before. His father, Alan Burke, is a former champion surfer at both national and international levels. Since 1993, he has been successfully operating Burkie’s Surf School where he and his team are committed to sharing their passion for the waves with a new generation.   

Alan has played a key role in developing Josh’s skill and preparing him to compete all across the world. Known for his daring aerial stunts, Josh’s phenomenal talent has seen him raising the colours of Barbados in several countries including Japan, Panama, Australia and France. 

Big brands such as Reef and Billabong have recognised Josh’s work on the waves and saw him to be an ideal global ambassador. Through his partnership with Billabong, in 2014 Josh had the opportunity to travel to Tahiti where he trained at Teahupo’o, known to be the most dangerous wave in the world. 

Zu Hause in barbadischen Wellen

" Für manche ist der Ozean nur Wasser, für mich ist es der Ort, an dem ich meinen Frieden bewahre", sagte Josh einmal. Es wäre eine Untertreibung zu sagen, dass Josh sich zwischen den Wellen und Gezeiten der barbadischen Meere wohl fühlt. Er liebt es, andere an verschiedenen Orten auf der Insel zu üben und zu trainieren, aber die herausfordernden Wellen von Bathseba an der Ostküste sind zweifellos sein Favorit. "Soup Bowl ist eine der besten Wellen der Welt", sagte Josh über die erstklassige Surf-Site.

Die Soup Bowl wird von Surfern wegen ihrer charakteristischen hohen Wellen und Fässer fast das ganze Jahr über geliebt. Der erfahrene Surfer Kelly Slater hat sogar gesagt, dass der Soup Bowl weltweit zu seinen drei Lieblingswellen gehört.

Joshs Erfolge

Obwohl Josh damals erst 14 Jahre alt war, wurde er 2011 ausgewählt, Barbados bei der US-Surf-Serie Quiksilver King Of The Grom zu vertreten. Während seiner Vorbereitung sagte der Teenager den Medien: "Ich werde mein Bestes geben und meine Barbados-Flagge hissen." Dieses Gefühl gilt immer noch für den Champion-Surfer, der die Insel weiterhin stolz repräsentiert.

Als Beweis für sein Können erhielt Josh 2013 zu Recht die immense Ehre, ausgewählt zu werden, um Barbados, die gesamte Karibik, Mittel- und Südamerika bei Quiksilver King of the Groms in Frankreich zu vertreten. Hier, unter den besten der Welt, eroberte Josh stolz den achten Platz.

Nach weiteren Jahren der Entwicklung seiner Fähigkeiten und internationalen Leistungen belegte Josh im September 2018 den 5. Platz beim WSL WRV Qualifying Series 1000-Event in Outer Banks (OBX), North Carolina. Diese Erfahrung stärkte Burkes dynamische Surfkarriere als 21-Jähriger weiter -old belegte nun den 3. Platz in der WSL North American Rankings. Als Josh über diesen Erfolg sprach, dachte er über die Herausforderungen bei der Vorbereitung auf ein Ereignis dieser Größenordnung nach. „Ich bin in das OBX-Event gegangen und brauchte ein gutes Ergebnis, etwas höher als ein Neuntes, um meine Punkte zu erhöhen. Es war ein bisschen Druck, den ich auf mich selbst ausübte, und es schien zu funktionieren, obwohl ich natürlich gewinnen wollte, aber mit einem fünften Platz bei diesen Veranstaltungen bin ich zufrieden. "

Josh's Verletzungen & Genesungen

Josh machte weiterhin Wellen, als er sich als erster Barbadier für das am meisten erwartete Ereignis auf der QS-Tour (World Surf League) der Volcom Pipe Pro 3000 in Oahu, Hawaii, qualifizierte. Kurz vor diesem Event im Jahr 2019 erlitt der junge Surfer eine schwere Verletzung, die seine Leistung stark beeinträchtigte. Die Zuschauer beschrieben seine Show sogar als " das größte und gruseligste Auslöschen in der Geschichte von Volcom". Obwohl es furchterregend war, erholte sich Josh und die Aufzeichnungen dieser Aufführung wurden auf vielen Social-Media-Plattformen schnell viral. Gute Wünsche und Unterstützung aus der ganzen Welt strömten schnell ein und motivierten Josh, noch stärker zurückzukehren.

Inspiration für eine neue Generation von Surfern

2017 hat die Surf-Community in Barbados den lokalen Surfkalender durch die Durchführung des ersten Barbados Surf Pro verändert. Wie erwartet war Josh hocherfreut darüber, dass seine Insel so große Fortschritte machte. Er bemerkte: „Ein QS3000 in Barbados zu haben, ist eine große Sache, da es 100 Surfer aus der ganzen Welt bringen wird. Wir haben hier auf Barbados ein unglaubliches Talent und normalerweise müssen wir alle nach Übersee reisen, um an offiziellen WSL-Events teilnehmen zu können. “ Josh sah darin eine großartige Gelegenheit für sein Heimatland, neue Talente willkommen zu heißen und noch mehr Surfer den Wundern der barbadischen Wellen auszusetzen. "Wir haben hier auf Barbados das beste Setup mit Wellen in jeder Kategorie und es ist großartig, dass jetzt andere Surfer in die großartigen Strände und Wellen eingeführt werden können, die wir hier haben."

Die Veranstaltung hatte einen enormen Einfluss und über 150 Profisurfer landeten auf Barbados, um an der Surfaktion teilzunehmen. Ohne Zweifel vertrat Josh sein Land gut, ging selbstbewusst mit den Wellen von Drill Hall Beach um und beeindruckte die mehr als 80.000 internationalen Zuschauer, die die Veranstaltungen online gestreamt hatten. Josh sprach stolz über die Bedeutung ähnlicher lokal veranstalteter Events und bemerkte: „Es hilft Barbados und der Karibik so sehr, diese Events zu haben, es ist ein Muss“, sagte Burke. „Dies senkt nicht nur die Kosten für die unterschätzten Surfer in der Karibik, sondern auch Es gibt ihnen die Möglichkeit, einige der besten der Welt zu sehen. “ Josh glaubt, dass es wichtig ist, die kommende Generation von Surfern auf Barbados zu motivieren, indem er ihnen die Kraft und den Ruhm der Gewässer der Insel zeigt. „Es ist auch inspirierend für alle einheimischen Kinder, den QS-Tour-Surfern aus der ganzen Welt zuzusehen, wie sie ihre Heimpause surfen, ihnen viel beibringen und sie dazu bringen, die Welle anders zu betrachten. Sie sehen, was auf der Welle möglicherweise getan werden kann. “

Der Adrenalinschub, einige der robustesten Wellen der Welt zu beherrschen, und die Freude, den Namen seines Landes wiederholt in Geschichtsbücher einzutragen, tragen dazu bei, Josh Burkes Leidenschaft für den Sport, den er liebt, voranzutreiben. Obwohl es für manche riskant erscheinen mag, fühlt sich Josh im Wasser wohl, da er von den Besten in Barbados - seinem Vater - geschickt durch die Gezeiten seiner Kleinkindjahre geführt wurde. Mit seinem unbestreitbaren Talent, Charme, Charisma und seiner Liebe zu seinem Land werden wir sicher sehen, wie Josh Rekorde bricht und hoch hinaus will.

Karrierehöhepunkte

2018 - Erster Barbadier, dem die World Surf League 10.000 QS Wild Card für das Ballito Durban South Africa Event verliehen wurde

2019 August: 37. Platz - Erster Barbadian Surfer, der sich in der Hauptrunde der Männer bei der WSL US OPEN von SURFING 10000 in Huntington Beach, Kalifornien, qualifiziert.

2019 September: 13. WSL WRV 1000 North Carolina, erster barbadischer Surfer, der jemals eine perfekte 10 bei einem Surf-Event erzielt hat.

2020 Februar:

WSL Volcom Pipe Pro 3000 Der erste und einzige Barbadier, der sich jemals an diesem Veranstaltungsort qualifiziert hat, Pipeline Hawaii, die berühmteste und gefährlichste Welle der Welt.

Wissenswertes

  1. Burke's Beach in St. Michael ist nach Joshs Familie benannt und sein Lieblingsstrand auf Barbados.
  2. Joshs Lieblings-Surfspot ist der Soup Bowl.
  3. In seiner Freizeit kümmert sich Josh um seinen Gemüsegarten, in dem er frisches Gemüse aus der Region anbaut.
  4. Wenn er nicht surft, spielt Josh mit seinem Bruder Jacob Badminton.
  5. Einer von Joshs Lieblingslokalen ist Stoutee's in der Chancery Lane, einer kleinen Kantine, in der leckere lokale Köstlichkeiten wie Fischfrikadellen, Rotis und natürlich eiskaltes Bier serviert werden.

https://www.visitbarbados.org/sysimages/ambassador/resized/joshburke1_rsz_06052021004246304.jpg

Leading Caribbean Male Surfer

At just three years old, Barbadian surfer, Josh Burke, was drawn by the allure of riding towering waves and surfing the island’s seas. Born into a family of champion surfers, it seemed only natural that he continue the legacy which was established by family members years before. His father, Alan Burke, is a former champion surfer at both national and international levels. Since 1993, he has been successfully operating Burkie’s Surf School where he and his team are committed to sharing their passion for the waves with a new generation.   

Alan has played a key role in developing Josh’s skill and preparing him to compete all across the world. Known for his daring aerial stunts, Josh’s phenomenal talent has seen him raising the colours of Barbados in several countries including Japan, Panama, Australia and France. 

Big brands such as Reef and Billabong have recognised Josh’s work on the waves and saw him to be an ideal global ambassador. Through his partnership with Billabong, in 2014 Josh had the opportunity to travel to Tahiti where he trained at Teahupo’o, known to be the most dangerous wave in the world. 

At Home in Barbadian Waves

The ocean to some is just water, to me it’s where I maintain my peace,” Josh once stated. It would be an understatement to say that Josh feels comfortable amongst the waves and tides of the Barbadian seas. He loves to practise and train others at several locations across the island but the challenging waves of Bathsheba in the East Coast are undoubtedly his favourite. “Soup Bowl is one of the best waves in the world,” Josh said of the world-class surfing site. 

The Soup Bowl is beloved by surfers due to its signature high waves and barrels throughout most of the year. Veteran surfer, Kelly Slater, has even said that the Soup Bowl ranks in his top three favourite waves, worldwide.

Josh’s Successes

In 2011, though just 14 years old at that time, Josh was selected to represent Barbados at the Quiksilver King Of The Grom US surf series.  During his preparation, the teen told the media,  “I will try my very best and will be flying my Barbados flag.” This sentiment still holds true for the champion surfer as he continues to proudly represent the island. 

As testament to his skill, in 2013, Josh rightfully received the immense honour of being selected to represent Barbados, the entire Caribbean, Central and South America at Quiksilver King of the Groms in France. Here, amongst the best in the world, Josh proudly captured the eighth position.

After more years of developing his skills and international showings, Josh went on to place 5th at the WSL WRV Qualifying Series 1000 event in Outer Banks (OBX) North Carolina in September 2018. This experience further bolstered Burke’s dynamic surfing career as the 21-year-old now ranked 3rd in WSL North American Rankings. Speaking on this success, Josh reflected on the challenges of preparing for an event of this magnitude. “I went into the OBX event needing a good result, something higher than a 9th in order to increase my points. It was a bit of pressure I put on myself and it seemed to work although obviously, I wanted to win, but a 5th in these events I am happy with."

Josh’s Injuries & Recoveries

Josh continued to make waves as he became the first Barbadian to qualify for the most anticipated event on the World Surf League (WSL) Men's Qualifying Series (QS) tour the Volcom Pipe Pro 3000 in Oahu, Hawaii. Shortly before this 2019 event, the young surfer sustained a serious injury, which greatly impacted his performance. Onlookers even described his showing as “the biggest and scariest wipeout in Volcom history.” Though terrifying, Josh recovered and recordings of this performance quickly went viral across many social media platforms. Well wishes and support from across the world quickly poured in, motivating Josh to come back even stronger. 

Inspiring a New Generation of Surfers

In 2017, the surfing community in Barbados transformed the local surf calendar by staging the inaugural Barbados Surf Pro. As expected, Josh was elated that his island was making such massive strides.  He noted, “Having a QS3000 in Barbados is a huge deal as it will bring 100 surfers from around the world. We have amazing talent here in Barbados and usually we all have to travel overseas in order to compete in official WSL events.” Josh saw this as a great opportunity for his home country to welcome new talent and further expose even more surfers to the wonders of Barbadian waves. “We have the best set up here in Barbados with waves in every category and it is great that now other surfers can be introduced to the great beaches and wave set up we have here.” 

The event had a huge impact and saw over 150 pro surfers landing in Barbados to be part of the surfing action. Without a doubt, Josh represented his country well, confidently handling the waves of Drill Hall Beach and impressing the more than 80,000 international viewers who streamed the events online. Speaking proudly about the importance of similar locally hosted events, Josh noted, “It helps Barbados and the Caribbean so much to have these events, it's a must," Burke said. "Not only does it cut costs for the underrated Caribbean surfers, but it gives them the opportunity to watch some of the world's best.” Josh believes that it is important to motivate the upcoming generation of surfers in Barbados by showing them the power and fame of the island’s waters. “It's also inspiring for all the local kids to watch the QS tour surfers from around the world surf their home break, teaching them lots while making them look at the wave differently. They see what can possibly be done on the wave.”

The adrenaline rush of commanding some of the world’s most robust waves and the joy of repeatedly stamping his country’s name in history books help to drive Josh Burke’s passion for the sport he loves. Though it may seem risky to some, Josh is comfortable in the water as he has been ably guided through the tides from his toddler years by the best in Barbados- his dad. With his undeniable talent, charming, charisma and love for his country, we are sure to see Josh breaking records and riding high. 

Career Highlights

2018- First Barbadian to be awarded the World Surf League 10,000 QS wild card into the Ballito Durban South Africa Event 

2019 August: 37th place -First Barbadian Surfer to Qualify in the Men’s main round at the WSL US OPEN of SURFING 10000, Huntington Beach California.

2019 September: 13th-WSL WRV 1000 North Carolina, First Barbadian surfer to ever score a perfect 10 in a surfing event.

2020 February:

WSL Volcom Pipe Pro 3000 First and only Barbadian to ever qualify at this venue, Pipeline Hawaii, the most famous and dangerous wave in the World.

 Fun Facts

  1. Burke’s Beach in St. Michael is named after Josh’s family and is his favourite beach in Barbados. 
  2. Josh’s favourite surf spot is the Soup Bowl. 
  3. In his spare time, Josh tends to his kitchen garden where he grows fresh local veggies.
  4. When he’s not surfing, Josh enjoys a game of badminton with his brother, Jacob. 
  5. One of Josh’s favourite hang out spots is Stoutee’s in Chancery Lane,  a small canteen that serves up tasty local delicacies such as fishcakes, rotis and of course, ice-cold beers.